MINIMALIST MAFIA

Feb/2009 at 3:23 am Leave a comment

You know who you are.

I appreciate your ascetic aesthetic. Truly.

Very Zen or “spa” or mid-century modern or whatever you guys are going for now.

What you call cluttered, I call cozy. Have you never heard of layering a room?

I know you think I have too many things but they are MY things.

What you think of as over-the-top, I call Venetian opulence. đŸ™‚

You think my antiques are junk. They are heirlooms.

My collections are a mystery to you.

To you, my style is old-fashioned. To me it is a reminder of a gentler, more civilized time.

And then you started on the books. Can you have too many books? The Kindle is fine for travel or research but I can’t visit it like the old friends my books are. It does not work for art books and you can’t whisper to a friend that the naughty bit is on page 257. But you are winning. Kindles are even showing up at my Book Club.

Ironically, now you want me to read  The Power of Less: The Fine Art of Limiting Yourself to the Essential…in Business and in Life .

Hmmmm. I have to buy another book. Oh dear.

And I want you to read, oh, I don’t know what it’s called, but it’s the opposite of that book.

I know I have it here somewhere,

In one of these bookcases.

Somewhere- among these many, many books…

ADDENDUM-Actually, it was an awesome book, not at all what I expected.

Entry filed under: ifIWereInChargeOfEverything, JustAnOldFashionedGirl, Memories, TwelveStepThis, Why, WhyNot?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

FIRST DOG ENVIROMENT IS EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Pages


