BIG DAY FOR A SMALL DOG

Mar/2009 at 6:31 pm 4 comments

One of my dogs always gets carsick-usually between the console and the passenger seat. Last week she leaned way over and hit the coin holder. Big time. I only felt slightly guilty as I threw away about a dollar in change. Totally worth it.

My car is stocked with a big towel, paper towels, plastic bags and wash-ups. Why bother? Well, a dog has to be portable. And she is fine once we get to our destination, much better than the other one (who is an excellent traveler but not so great with people).

Ironically, I have a fancy double car seat (for dogs!) that takes up most of my back seat. So they can look out the window. Which is a really, really bad idea for a carsick dog. Trust me on this.

So this morning, as Little-Bit and I were leaving for a Starbucks run, my eye happened upon a cardboard box. Hmm, I thought, instead of holding cans this box could hold…whatever happens in the car.

I put the box in the passenger seat, the towel in the box and the dog on the towel and buckled her in. I drove slowly and went out of my way to avoid speed bumps and potholes. She settled down and propped her head on the edge of the box.

Starbucks. Bank. Dry cleaners. No excitement although she looked a little queasy.

For the first time EVER we made it all the way home without any “unpleasantness”.

A big red letter day for a little white dog!

dsc_0240

All worn out…

Entry filed under: Coton de Tulear, Dogs, ifIWereInChargeOfEverything, JustAnOldFashionedGirl, MakingMemories, Obamamy, WhyNot?, Woof, YEA!. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

NECESSARY CHANGES RESCUE ME

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JUDITH  |  Mar/2009 at 9:00 pm

    What a DOGGIE person you have become… Georgia says “You always were”
    xx

    Reply
    • 2. alwaysopensometimesgone  |  Mar/2009 at 12:50 am

      When I met you I was between dogs for the first time ever! I decided to choose before I was chosen. (I had only done that once before with a disastrous Dalmatian in my teens.) So, I did a lot of research and fell in love with this breed. And then I fell in love with my girls. Well, you know how THAT goes!

      BTW, how do you like their “internet names”? Sound a bit like stripper names, don’t they?

      Reply
    • 3. alwaysopensometimesgone  |  Mar/2009 at 1:09 am

      She’s such a cutie-patootie.

      Reply
  • […] who has been doing so well, got sick as soon as I put her […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Pages


