RECIPE FOR SUCCESS

Apr/2009 at 9:16 am 4 comments

My dog food recipes are rather like a Chinese menu-one from column A, two from column B and so on. I focus on what is in season, what is on sale and the percentages for each category that I have decided on.

PROTEIN 40%

Boneless, skinless chicken breast or

Turkey or

Lamb

This is usually poached in salt-free chicken stock, removed and shredded.

I reserve the liquid for the:

VEGETABLES, FRUITS, BERRIES-30% any or all of the below:

Carrots

Celery

Green beans (B.B. used to pick these out but now I saute them in olive oil to make them a little mushier and she doesn’t even notice.)

Green peas

Zucchini

Squash

Apple

Cranberries-few

Blueberries-few

Broccoli tops

Parsley-fresh

STARCH-30%-any or all of the below

White rice

Sweet potatoes

Yams

Potatoes

Pumpkin

TO MAKE:

Don’t cook anything longer than you need to.

I use the reserve stock to cook everything. If I have any left over, I freeze it for next time.

Mush it all together.

I might add olive oil and/or molasses before I freeze the food.

TO FEED:

After I defrost the frozen food to, I may add some Belgian yogurt, cottage cheese or Eggland eggs to the mix before I feed them.

ADDENDUM- They do get supplements. Everyday they get salmon oil, vitamins, and Kraft cheese with Angel Eyes hidden inside. (The Angel Eyes goes in cheese rather than their food so that I know each gets the correct dosage.

For training (the never ending story) I use the Kraft, home made meatballs, or chicken chews.

For chewing (I think their teeth must grow like rabbits.) I use bully sticks ( Don’t ask. It is SO gross!) and dental chews from the vet. I will leave a p-nut butter Kong but they are messy to clean. We do not use Greenies because of articles like this.

Entry filed under: ADDENDUM, Coton de Tulear, DogFood, Dogs, ECONOMY, ifIWereInChargeOfEverything, JustAnOldFashionedGirl, MakingMemories, MENUS, Obamamy, RECIPES, TwelveStepThis, WhyNot?, Woof, YEA!, YUMMY. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

PORCH SWING BLUES WHY DOESN’T APPLE JUST ADMIT

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara  |  Apr/2009 at 8:42 pm

    Having heard all about the Easter dinner menu that was canceled, I starting reading the dog recipes and and segued into thinking it was the human menu. My but those puppies are properly fed.

    Reply
  • 2. DENTAL DRAMA « AlwaysOpenSometimesGone’s Blog  |  Apr/2009 at 10:55 pm

    […] Apr/2009 I wasn’t going to talk about this but then I got outed by a friend in the comments. […]

    Reply
  • […] I like to make my own dog food. I think it is healthier (for them) and more economical (for […]

    Reply
  • 4. Marc Smith, DVM  |  Jun/2009 at 9:31 pm

    I like your recipe because i enjoy seeing people who spend time and energy on their pets. Cooking for your pet is time consuming. It is refreshing!!!! As far as your acupuncture question, luxating patellas are best treated via surgery depending on the severity. Most small breed dogs will adapt to the issue and get along fine. However, some small dogs with luxating patellas will rupture the cruciate ligament on down the road and that can cause severe lameness. Acupucture might help with the pain of luxating patellas but will do nothing for the mechanical aspect of the problem. I would not recommend acupuncture for treatment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Pages


